

national treasury

Department: National Treasury REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Enquiries: Tel: Fax: Jan Hattingh (012) 315-5009 (012) 395-6553

29 November 2010

NON COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 71 OF THE MUNICIPAL FINANCIAL MANGEMENT ACT, 2003 (ACT NO. 56 OF 2003)

- 1. The National Treasury hereby lists the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that have failed to conform to the legislative requirements outlined by Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003) for the reporting period ending 30 September 2010 (first quarter).
- 2. The National Treasury is publishing this information as part of its efforts to improve the quality of data and increase the level of compliance by provincial treasuries and municipalities with regards to the submission of in-year monitoring reports that are required by law.
- 3. The National Treasury indicated in its Section 71 publication for the reporting period ended 30 June 2007 (18 October 2007) that it would in future publish the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that failed to comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003.
- 4. The attached Annexes provide the names of the provinces/municipalities that have not complied with their reporting obligations in the following respects:

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003); and

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

5. The National Treasury urges all provinces and municipalities whose names appear in the attached Annexes to take the necessary steps to ensure that they comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act in future.

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003, (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Mpumalanga Northern Cape Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Code	Name of Municipality
Eastern Cape – 3 municip	alities
EC109	Koukamma
EC135	Intsika Yethu (no monthly submissions)
DC13	Chris Hani
KwaZulu-Natal – 1 munici	pality
KZN215	Ezinqoleni (no monthly submissions)
Mpumalanga – 1 municipa	llity
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
North West – 2 municipali	ties
NW391	Kagisano (no monthly submissions)
DC39	Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati

Annex C: Municipalities that have not submitted electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Code	Name of Municipality
Eastern Cape – 4 Municipal	ities
EC121	Mbhashe
EC126	Ngqushwa
DC14	Ukhahlamba District
EC155	Nyandeni
Kwazulu Natal – 1 Municipa	ality
KZN294	Maphumulo
Limpopo – 1 Municipality	
LIM364	Mookgophong
Mpumalanga – 4 Municipali	ties
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP315	Thembisile Hani
DC31	Nkangala District
MP325	Bushbuckridge
Northern Cape – 5 Municipa	alities
NC453	Gamagara
NC071	Ubuntu
NC078	Siyancuma
DC7	Pixley Ka Seme District
NC092	Dikgatlong
North West – 3 Municipalitie	 2S
NW381	Ratlou
NW382	Tswaing
NW391	Kagisano

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2010 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 34 Municipalities EC105 EC106	Ndlambe
EC106	
	Sundays River Valley
EC107	Baviaans
EC108	Kouga
EC109	Koukamma
DC10	Cacadu District
EC121	Mbhashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC123	Great Kei
EC124	Amahlathi
EC125	Buffalo City
EC126	Ngqushwa
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC128	Nxuba
DC12	Amatole District
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC132	Tsolwana
EC133	Inkwanca
EC134	Lukhanji
EC135	Intsika Yethu
EC136	Emalahleni
EC137	Engcobo
EC138	Sakhisizwe
DC13	Chris Hani District
EC141	Elundini
EC142	Senqu
EC144	Gariep
DC14	Joe Gqabi District
EC154	Port St Johns
EC155	Nyandeni

EC156 EC157	Mhlontlo
EC157	
	King Sabata Dalindyebo
EC441	Matatiele
DC44	Alfred Nzo
Free State – 13 Municipalities	
FS162	Kopanong
FS163	Mohokare
FS171	Naledi
FS173	Mantsopa
FS181	Masilonyana
FS185	Nala
FS191	Setsoto
FS192	Dihlabeng
FS193	Nketoana
FS195	Phumelela
FS201	Moqhaka
FS203	Ngwathe
DC20	Fezile Dabi
Gauteng – 7 Municipalities	
JHB	City of Johannesburg
GT461	Nokeng tsa Taemane
GT462	Kungwini
DC46	Metsweding District
GT421	Emfuleni
GT481	Mogale City
GT484	Merafong City
KwaZulu-Natal – 33 Municipalities	
KZN211	Vulamehlo
KZN212	Umdoni
KZN213	Umzumbe
KZN214	uMuziwabantu
KZN215	Ezinqolweni

Code	Name of Municipality
KZN221	uMshwathi
KZN224	Impendle
KZN225	Msunduzi
KZN226	Mkhambathini
DC22	uMgungundlovu District
KZN235	Okhahlamba
KZN242	Nquthu
KZN244	Msinga
KZN245	Umvoti
DC24	Umzinyathi
KZN253	eMadlangeni
DC25	Amajuba District
KZN262	uPhongolo
KZN265	Nongoma
KZN266	Ulundi
DC26	Zululand District
KZN271	Umhlabuyalingana
KZN273	The Big Five False Bay
KZN275	Mtubatuba
KZN281	Mfolozi
KZN282	uMhlathuze
KZN292	KwaDukuza
KZN294	Maphumulo
DC29	iLembe
KZN431	Ingwe
KZN433	Greater Kokstad
KZN434	Ubuhlebezwe
DC43	Sisonke District
Limpopo – 21 Municipalities	
LIM473	Makhuduthamaga
LIM474	Fetakgomo
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
LIM475	Greater Tubatse
DC47	Greater Sekhukhune District

Code	Name of Municipality
LIM332	Greater Letaba
LIM334	Ba-Phalaborwa
LIM335	Maruleng
DC33	Mopani District
LIM342	Mutale
LIM344	Makhado
DC34	Vhembe District
LIM351	Blouberg
LIM353	Molemole
LIM354	Polokwane
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
DC35	Capricorn District
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM366	Bela Bela
LIM367	Mogalakwena
Mpumalanga – 16 Municipalit	ies
MP301	Albert Luthuli
MP303	Mkhondo
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP305	Lekwa
MP306	Dipaleseng
MP311	Victor Khanye
MP312	Emalahleni
MP314	Emakhazeni
MP315	Thembisile Hani
MP316	Dr JS Moroka
DC31	Nkangala District
MP321	Thaba Chweu
MP322	Mbombela
MP323	Umjindi
MP324	Nkomazi
MP325	Bushbuckridge

Code	Name of Municipality
Northern Cape – 21 Municipa	lities
NC453	Gamagara
NC061	Richtersveld
NC062	Nama Khoi
NC064	Kamiesberg
NC065	Hantam
DC6	Namakwa District
NC071	Ubuntu
NC073	Emthanjeni
NC074	Kareeberg
NC075	Renosterberg
NC076	Thembelihle
NC077	Siyathemba
NC078	Siyancuma
DC7	Pixley Ka Seme District
NC081	Mier
NC082	!Khai Gariep
NC084	!Kheis
NC086	Kgatelopele
DC8	Siyanda District
NC092	Dikgatlong
NC094	Phokwane
North West –18 Municipalities	<u> </u>
NW372	Madibeng
DC37	Bojanala Platinum District
NW381	Ratlou
NW382	Tswaing
NW384	Ditsobotla
NW385	Ramotshere Moiloa
DC38	Ngaka Modiri Molema District
NW391	Kagisano
NW392	Naledi
NW393	Mamusa
NW394	Greater Taung

Code	Name of Municipality
NW395	Моюро
NW396	Lekwa-Teemane
DC39	Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District
NW401	Ventersdorp
NW402	Tlokwe
NW404	Maquassi Hills
DC40	Dr Kenneth Kaunda District
Western Cape – 8 Municipali	ties
WC011	Matzikama
WC041	Saldanha Bay
WC015	Swartland
WC022	Witzenberg
WC041	Kannaland
WC042	Hassequa
WC044	George
DC4	Eden