

Enquiries: Jan Hattingh Tel: (012) 315-5009 Fax: (012) 395-6553

27 May 2011

NON-COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 71 OF THE MUNICIPAL FINANCIAL MANGEMENT ACT, 2003 (ACT NO. 56 OF 2003)

- 1. The National Treasury hereby lists the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that have failed to conform to the legislative requirements outlined by Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003) for the reporting period ending 31 March 2011 (third quarter).
- 2. The National Treasury is publishing this information as part of its efforts to improve the quality of data and increase the level of compliance by provincial treasuries and municipalities with regards to the submission of in-year monitoring reports that are required by law.
- 3. The National Treasury indicated in its Section 71 publication for the reporting period ended 30 June 2007 (18 October 2007) that it would in future publish the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that failed to comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003.
- 4. The attached Annexes provide the names of the provinces/municipalities that have not complied with their reporting obligations in the following respects:

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003); and

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

5. The National Treasury urges all provinces and municipalities whose names appear in the attached Annexes to take the necessary steps to ensure that they comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act in future.

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003, (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Mpumalanga

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

None.

Annex C: Municipalities that have not submitted electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Code	Name of Municipality
Eastern Cape – 8 Municipalities	
EC123	Great Kei
EC128	Nxuba
EC131	Inxuba Yethu
EC132	Tsolwane
EC138	Sakhisizwe
EC154	Port St Johns
EC155	Nyandeni
EC156	Mhlontlo
Free State – 2 Municipalities	
DC17	Motheo District
FS191	Setsoto
Gauteng – 1 Municipality	
GT421	Emfuleni
KwaZulu-Natal – 6 Municipalities	
KZN214	uMuziwabantu
KZN245	uMvoti
KZN261	eDumbe
KZN266	Ulundi
KZN283	Ntambanana
KZN434	Ubuhlebezwe
Limpopo – 6 Municipalities	
LIM335	Maruleng
LIM342	Mutale
LM353	Molemole
LIM354	Polokwane
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM366	Bela Bela

Code	Name of Municipality
Mpumalanga – 6 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP306	Dipaleseng
MP311	Victor Ka Seme
DC31	Nkangala District
DC32	Ehlanzeni District
Northern Cape – 11 Municipalit	ies
NC451	Moshweng
NC061	Richersveld
NC064	Kamiesberg
NC071	Ubuntu
NC075	Renosterberg
NC078	Siyancuma
DC7	Pixley Ka Seme District
NC081	Mier
NC082	!Kai! Garip
NC085	Tsantsabane
NC086	Kgatelopele
North West – 7 Municipalities	
NW372	Madibeng
DC37	Bojanala Platinum District
NW385	Ramotshere Moiloa
NW391	Kagisano
NW392	Naledi
NW404	Maquassi Hills
DC40	Dr Kenneth Kaunda District

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 31 March 2011 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Code	Name of Municipality	
Eastern Cape – 27 Municipalities		
EC107	Baviaans	
EC108	Kouga	
EC109	Koukamma	
DC10	Cacadu District	
EC121	Mbhashe	
EC123	Great Kei	
EC125	Buffalo City	
EC126	Ngqushwa	
EC128	Nxuba	
DC12	Amatole District	
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba	
EC132	Tsolwana	
EC133	Inkwanca	
EC134	Lukhanji	
EC136	Emalahleni	
EC137	Engcobo	
EC138	Sakhisizwe	
DC13	Chris Hani District	
EC141	Elundini	
EC143	Maletswai	
EC152	Ntabankulu	
EC153	Nquza Hills	
EC154	Port St Johns	
EC155	Nyandeni	
EC156	Mhlontlo	
EC157	King Sabata Dalindyebo	
EC442	Umzimvubu	
Free State – 7 Municipalities		
DC17	Motheo District	

Code	Name of Municipality
FS184	Matjhabeng
FS185	Nala
FS191	Setsoto
FS193	Nketoana
FS203	Ngwathe
FS205	Mafube
Gauteng – 9 Municipalities	
GT461	Nokeng tsa Taemane
GT462	Kungwini
DC46	Metsweding District
GT421	Emfuleni
GT423	Lesedi
DC42	Sedibeng District
GT482	Randfontein
GT484	Merafong City
DC48	We st Rand District
KwaZulu-Natal – 15 Municipalities	
KZN214	uMuziwabantu
KZN223	Mpofana
KZN225	Msunduzi
KZN245	Umvoti
DC24	Umzinyathi District
KZN261	eDumbe
KZN262	uPhongolo
KZN266	Ulundi
KZN275	Mtubatuba
KZN283	Ntambanana
KZN292	Kwadukuza
DC29	iLembe
KZN431	Ingwe
KZN433	Greater Kokstad
KZN434	Ubuhlebezwe

Code	Name of Municipality
Limpopo – 21 Municipalities	•
LIM473	Makhuduthamaga
LIM474	Fetakgomo
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
DC47	Greater Sekhukhune District
LIM332	Greater Letaba
LIM333	Greater Tzaneen
LIM335	Maruleng
LIM341	Musina
LIM342	Mutale
LIM343	Thulamela
LIM344	Makhado
DC34	Vhembe District
LIM351	Blouberg
LIM353	Molemole
LIM354	Polokwane
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM362	Lephalale
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM366	Bela Bela
LIM367	Mogalakwena
Mpumalanga – 8 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP303	Mkhondo
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP306	Dipaleseng
MP311	Victor Khanye
DC31	Nkangala District
MP322	Mbombela
DC32	Ehlanzeni
Northern Cape – 23 Municipalities	
NC451	Moshaweng

Code	Name of Municipality
NC452	Ga-Segonyane
NC453	Gamagara
DC45	John Taolo Gaetsewe District
NC061	Richtersveld
NC064	Kamiesberg
NC065	Hantam
NC066	Karoo Hoogland
DC6	Namakwa District
NC071	Ubuntu
NC075	Renosterberg
NC078	Siyancuma
DC7	Pixley Ka Seme District
NC081	Mier
NC082	!Khai Garip
NC083	//Khara Hais
NC084	!Kheis
NC085	Tsantsabane
NC086	Kgatelopele
DC8	Siyanda District
NC092	Dikgatlong
NC093	Magareng
NC094	Phokwane
North West – 11 Municipalities	S
NW371	Moretele
NW372	Madibeng
DC37	Bojanala Platinum District
NW385	Ramotshere Moiloa
NW391	Kagisano
NW392	Naledi
NW393	Mamusa
NW395	Molopo
DC39	Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District
NW404	Maquassi Hills
DC40	Dr Kenneth Kaunda District

Code	Name of Municipality	
Western Cape – 7 Municipalities		
WC033	Cape Agulhas	
WC041	Kannaland	
WC042	Hassequa	
WC043	Mossel Bay	
WC047	Bitou	
DC4	Eden	
WC052	Prince Albert	