

Enquiries: Jan Hattingh Tel: (012) 315-5009 Fax: (012) 395-6553

22 November 2012

NON-COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 71 OF THE MUNICIPAL FINANCIAL MANGEMENT ACT, 2003 (ACT NO. 56 OF 2003)

- 1. The National Treasury hereby lists the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that have failed to conform to the legislative requirements outlined by Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003) for the reporting period ending 30 September 2012 (first quarter).
- 2. The National Treasury is publishing this information as part of its efforts to improve the quality of data and increase the level of compliance by provincial treasuries and municipalities with regards to the submission of in-year monitoring reports that are required by law.
- 3. The National Treasury indicated in its Section 71 publication for the reporting period ended 30 June 2007 (18 October 2007) that it would in future publish the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that failed to comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003.
- 4. The attached Annexes provide the names of the provinces/municipalities that have not complied with their reporting obligations in the following respects:

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003); and

Annex E: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

5. The National Treasury urges all provinces and municipalities whose names appear in the attached Annexes to take the necessary steps to ensure that they comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act in future.

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003, (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape

Northern Cape

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Free State – 1 Municipalities	
FS164	Naledi
Northern Cape – 1 Municipalit	ies
NC085	Tsantsabane

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Code	Name of Municipality	
Eastern Cape – 17 Municipalities		
DC10	Cacadu	
DC13	Chris Hani	
EC105	Ndlambe	
EC121	Mbhashe	
EC122	Mnquma	
EC124	Amahlathi	
EC126	Ngqushwa	
EC128	Nxuba	
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba	
EC132	Tsolwana	
EC136	Emalahleni	
EC137	Engcobo	
EC138	Sakhisizwe	
EC153	Ngquza Hills	
EC155	Nyandeni	
EC156	Mhlontlo	
EC443	Mbizana	
Free State – 3 Municipalities		
FS164	Naledi (FS)	
FS201	Moqhaka	
FS205	Mafube	
Gauteng – 1 Municipality		
GT482	Randfontein	
KwaZulu-Natal - 7 Municipalities		
KZN242	Nquthu	
KZN244	Msinga	
KZN245	Umvoti	
KZN252	Newcastle	

Code	Name of Municipality
KZN253	eMadlangeni
KZN261	eDumbe
KZN285	Mthonjaneni
Limpopo – 9 Municipalities	
DC33	Mopani
DC35	Capricorn
LIM333	Greater Tzaneen
LIM344	Makhado
LIM351	Blouberg
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM475	Greater Tubatse
Mpumalanga – 5 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP312	Emalahleni
MP315	Thembisile Hani
MP324	Nkomazi
North West - 1 Municipalities	
NW393	Mamusa
Northern Cape – 1 Municipalities	1
NC085	Tsantsabane
Western Cape – 2 Municipalities	
WC023	Drakenstein
WC043	Mossel Bay

Annex D: Municipalities that have not submitted electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

None

Annex E: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2012 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Code	Name of Municipality
Eastern Cape – 17 Municipalities	
EC104	Makana
EC108	Kouga
DC10	Cacadu
EC121	Mbhashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC124	Amathlathi
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC132	Tsolwana
EC133	Inkwanca
EC136	Emalahleni
EC137	Engcobo
EC138	Sakhisizwe
EC153	Nquza Hills
EC155	Nyandeni
EC156	Mhlontlo
EC443	Mbizana
Free State – 8 Municipalities	,
FS161	Letsemeng
FS163	Mohakare
FS164	Naledi
FS181	Masilonyana
FS201	Monqaka
FS203	Ngwathe
FS205	Mafube
DC20	Fezile Dabi
Gauteng – 3 Municipalities	
GT481	Mogale City
GT482	Randfontein

Code	Name of Municipality
GT484	Merafong City
KwaZulu-Natal – 9 Municipalities	
KZN233	Indaka
KZN242	Nquthu
KZN245	Umvoti
KZN252	Newcastle
KZN253	eMadlangeni
KZN261	eDumbe
KZN283	Ntambanana
KZN285	Mthonjaneni
KZN434	Ubuhlebezwe
Limpopo – 12 Municipalities	
LIM333	Greater Tzaneen
DC33	Mopani
LIM343	Thulamela
LIM344	Makhado
LIM351	Blouberg
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
DC35	Capricorn
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM473	Makhuduthamaga
LIM474	Fetakgomo
LIM475	Greater Tubatse
DC47	Greater Sekhukhune
Mpumalanga – 4 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP304	Pixley Ka Seme
MP313	Steve Tshwete
MP324	Nkomazi
Northern Cape – 2 Municipality	·
NC071	Ubuntu

Code	Name of Municipality
NC085	Tsantsabane
North West – 9 Municipalitie	s
NW381	Ratlou
NW382	Tswaing
NW384	Ditsobotla
DC38	Ngaka Modiri Molema
NW393	Mamusa
NW396	Lekwa-Teemane
NW397	Kagisano-Molopo
DC39	Dr Ruth Segomotsi Momopati
NW404	Maquassi Hills
Western Cape – 1 Municipali	ities
WC023	Drakenstein