

Enquiries: Jan Hattingh Tel: (012) 315-5009 Fax: (012) 395-6553

13 December 2013

NON-COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 71 OF THE MUNICIPAL FINANCIAL MANGEMENT ACT, 2003 (ACT NO. 56 OF 2003)

- 1. The National Treasury hereby lists the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that have failed to conform to the legislative requirements outlined by Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003) for the reporting period ending 30 September 2013 (first quarter).
- 2. The National Treasury is publishing this information as part of its efforts to improve the quality of data and increase the level of compliance by provincial treasuries and municipalities with regards to the submission of in-year monitoring reports that are required by law.
- 3. The National Treasury indicated in its Section 71 publication for the reporting period ended 30 June 2007 (18 October 2007) that it would in future publish the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that failed to comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003.
- 4. The attached Annexes provide the names of the provinces/municipalities that have not complied with their reporting obligations in the following respects:

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003):

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003); and

Annex E: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

5. The National Treasury urges all provinces and municipalities whose names appear in the attached Annexes to take the necessary steps to ensure that they comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act in future.

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003, (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Limpopo

Mpumalanga

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

None

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 10 Municipalities	
EC121	Mbhashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC123	Great Kei
EC124	Amahlathi
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC128	Nxuba
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC135	Intsika Yethu
EC138	Sakhisizwe
EC154	Port St Johns
DC15	O R Tambo

Free State – 3 Municipalities	
FS164	Naledi (FS)
FS185	Nala
FS201	Moqhaka

Gauteng – 2 Municipalities	
TSH	City of Tshwane
GT421	Emfuleni

KwaZulu-Natal – 1 Municipalities	
KZN211	Vuhlamehlo

Limpopo – 16 Municipalities	
LIM331	Greater Giyane
LIM332	Greater Letaba
DC33	Mopani
LIM341	Musina
LIM343	Thulamela
LIM344	Makhado
DC34	Vhembe
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM362	Lephalale
LIM367	Mogalakwena
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
LIM472	Elias Motsoaledi
LIM474	Fetakgomo
LIM475	Greater Tubatse
DC47	Sekhukhune

Annex D: Municipalities that have not submitted electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 1 Municipalities	
EC121	Mbhashe
Northern Cape – 1 Municipa	lities
Northern Cape – 1 Municipa NC084	!Kheis

Annex E: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 September 2013 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 19 Municipalities	
EC121	Mbashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC123	Great Kei
EC124	Amahlathi
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC128	Nxuba
DC12	Amatole District Municipality
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC135	Intsika Yethu
EC137	Engcobo
EC138	Sakhisizwe
EC153	Nquza Hills
EC154	Port St Johns
EC155	Nyandeni
DC15	O.R. Tambo
EC441	Matatiele
EC443	Mbizana
EC444	Ntabankulu
DC44	Alfred Nzo District Municipality

Free State – 4 Municipalities	
FS164	Naledi
FS185	Nala
FS195	Phumelela
FS201	Moqhaka

Gauteng – 3 Municipalities	
TSH	City of Tshwane
GT421	Emfuleni
GT484	Merafong City

KwaZulu-Natal – 1 Municipalities	
KZN242	Nquthu

Limpopo – 15 Municipalities	
LIM331	Greater Giyani
LIM332	Greater Letaba
DC33	Mopani District Municipality
LIM341	Musina
LIM344	Makhado
DC34	Vhembe District Municipality
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM362	Lephalale
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM367	Mogalakwena
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
LIM472	Elias Motsoaledi
LIM474	Fetakgomo
LIM475	Greater Tubatse
DC47	Greater Sekhukhune District Municipality

Mpumalanga – 4 Municipalities	
MP303	Mkhondo
MP307	Govan Mbeki
MP311	Victor Khanye
MP314	Emakhazeni

North West – 3 Municipalities	
NW375	Moses Kotane
NW394	Greater Taung
NW397	Molopo-Kagisano

Western Cape – 1 Municipalities	
DC2	Cape Winelands District Municipality