

Enquiries: Jan Hattingh Tel: (012) 315-5009 Fax: (012) 395-6553

25 August 2014

NON-COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 71 OF THE MUNICIPAL FINANCIAL MANGEMENT ACT, 2003 (ACT NO. 56 OF 2003)

- 1. The National Treasury hereby lists the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that have failed to conform to the legislative requirements outlined by Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003) for the reporting period ending 30 June 2014 (fourth quarter).
- 2. The National Treasury is publishing this information as part of its efforts to improve the quality of data and increase the level of compliance by provincial treasuries and municipalities with regards to the submission of in-year monitoring reports that are required by law.
- 3. The National Treasury indicated in its Section 71 publication for the reporting period ended 30 June 2007 (18 October 2007) that it would in future publish the names of the provincial treasuries and municipalities that failed to comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003.
- 4. The attached Annexes provide the names of the provinces/municipalities that have not complied with their reporting obligations in the following respects:

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003):

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit the performance indicator reports required for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003);

Annex E: Municipalities that did not submit electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003); and

Annex F: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

5. The National Treasury urges all provinces and municipalities whose names appear in the attached Annexes to take the necessary steps to ensure that they comply with their reporting obligations in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act in future.

Annex A: Provincial treasuries that did not publish monthly municipal information for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003, (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Northern Cape

Annex B: Municipalities that did not submit the performance indicator reports required for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Metros and Secondary cities – 17 municipalities	
TSH	City of Tshwane
BUF	Buffalo City
FS184	Matjhabeng
GT421	Emfuleni
GT481	Mogale City
KZN252	Newcastle
LIM354	Polokwane
MP307	Govan Mbeki
MP312	Emalahleni
MP313	Steve Tshwete
MP322	Mbombela
NC091	Sol Plaatje
NW372	Madibeng
NW373	Rustenburg
NW402	Tlokwe
NW403	City of Matlosana
WC023	Drakenstein

Annex C: Municipalities that did not submit any reports required for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

None

Annex D: Municipalities that did not submit the signed Section 71 report for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 71 of the Municipal Financial Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 16 Municipalities	
NMA	Nelson Mandela Bay
EC109	KouKamma
EC121	Mbhashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC128	Nxuba
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC134	Lukhanji
EC137	Engcobo
EC154	Port St Johns
EC156	Mhlontlo
DC15	O .R. Tambo
EC442	Umzimvubu
EC443	Mbizana
EC444	Ntabankulu
DC44	Alfred Nzo

Free State –11 Municipalities	
FS161	Letsemeng
FS162	Kopanong
FS164	Naledi (Fs)
FS185	Nala
FS191	Setsoto
FS195	Phumelela
FS196	Mantsopa
FS201	Moqhaka
FS204	Metsimaholo
FS205	Mafube
DC20	Fezile Dabi

Gauteng – 4 Municipalities	
DC42	Sedibeng

GT482	Randfontein
GT483	Westonaria
GT484	Merafong City

KwaZulu-Natal – 6 Municipalities	
KZN225	Msunduzi
KZN262	uPhongolo
KZN273	The Big 5 False Bay
KZN282	uMhlathuze
KZN283	Ntambanana
KZN286	Nkandla

Limpopo – 13 Municipalities	
LIM331	Greater Giyani
DC34	Vhembe
LIM352	Aganang
LIM354	Polokwane
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM362	Lephalale
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM366	Bela Bela
LIM367	Mogalakwena
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
LIM473	Makhuduthamaga
LIM475	Greater Tubatse

Mpumalanga – 8 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP307	Govan Mbeki
DC30	Gert Sibande
MP311	Victor Khanye
DC31	Nkangala
MP324	Nkomazi
MP325	Bushbuckridge
DC32	Ehlanzeni

Northern Cape – 20 Municipalities	
NC452	Ga-Segonyana
NC453	Gamagara
DC45	John Taolo Gaetsewe
NC064	Kamiesberg
NC067	Khai-Ma
NC071	Ubuntu
NC073	Emthanjeni
NC074	Kareeberg
NC075	Renosterberg
NC076	Thembelihle
NC077	Siyathemba
DC7	Pixley Ka Seme (Nc)
NC083	//Khara Hais
NC084	!Kheis
NC085	Tsantsabane
NC086	Kgatelopele
NC091	Sol Plaatje
NC092	Dikgatlong
NC093	Magareng
NC094	Phokwane

North West – 1 Municipalities	
DC37	Bojanala Platinum

Annex E: Municipalities that have not submitted electronic returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

None

Annex F: Municipalities that did not submit signed returns on their Conditional Grant spending for the period ending 30 June 2014 in terms of Section 74(1) of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003 (Act No. 56 of 2003).

Eastern Cape – 18 Municipalities	
EC109	Kou-Kamma
EC121	Mbashe
EC122	Mnquma
EC123	Great Kei
EC126	Ngqushwa
EC127	Nkonkobe
EC128	Nxuba
EC131	Inxuba Yethemba
EC134	Lukhanji
EC135	Intsika Yethu
EC137	Engcobo
EC144	Gariep
EC154	Port St Johns
EC156	Mhlontlo
DC15	O.R Tambo
EC442	Umzimvubu
EC444	Ntabankulu
DC44	Alfred Nzo

Free State – 11 Municipalities	
FS161	Letsemeng
FS162	Kopanong
FS163	Mohokare
FS164	Naledi
FS185	Nala
FS191	Setsoto
FS195	Phumelela
FS196	Mantsopa
FS201	Moqhaka
FS204	Metsimaholo
FS205	Mafube

Gauteng – 4 Municipalities	
DC42	Sedibeng
GT482	Randfontein
GT483	Westonaria
GT484	Merafong City

KwaZulu-Natal – 8 Municipalities	
KZN242	Nquthu
KZN252	Newcastle
KZN253	eMandlangeni
KZN262	uPhongolo
KZN273	The Big Five False Bay
DC27	Umkhanyakude
KZN283	Ntambanana
KZN286	Nkandla

Limpopo – 11 Municipalities	
DC34	Vhembe
LIM352	Aganang
LIM354	Polokwane
LIM355	Lepelle-Nkumpi
LIM361	Thabazimbi
LIM362	Lephalale
LIM364	Mookgopong
LIM366	Bela Bela
LIM367	Mogalakwena
LIM471	Ephraim Mogale
LIM475	Greater Tubatse

Mpumalanga – 10 Municipalities	
MP302	Msukaligwa
MP303	Mkhondo
MP305	Lekwa
MP307	Govan Mbeki
DC30	Gert Sibande
MP311	Victor Khanye
MP312	Emalahleni
MP324	Nkomazi
MP325	Bushbuckridge
DC32	Ehlanzeni

Northern Cape – 19 Municipalities	
NC452	Ga-Segonyana
NC453	Gamagara
DC45	John Taolo Gaetswe
NC064	Kamiesberg
NC066	Karoo Hoogland
NC067	Khai-Ma
NC071	Ubuntu
NC074	Kareeberg
NC075	Renosterberg
NC076	Thembelihle
NC077	Siyathemba
NC082	Kai Garib
NC083	Khara Hais
NC084	Kheis
NC085	Tsantsabane
NC086	Kgatelopele
NC091	Sol Plaatje
NC092	Dikgatlong
NC093	Magereng

North West – 4 Municipalities	
DC37	Bojanala Platinum
NW382	Tswaing
DC38	Ngaka Modiri Molema
NW397	Molopo-Kagisano

Western Cape – 2 Municipalities	
DC1	West Coast
DC2	Cape Winelands